Skip to:

SEIU Florida Members Announce Endorsements For 2020 Elections

MIRAMAR, FL — SEIU Florida, which represents more than 55,000 active and retired health care professionals, public employees, airport workers, adjunct faculty and property service workers in the state, has announced a slate of endorsed candidates for the 2020 August and November elections who will best serve the needs of Florida’s poor and working families.


The candidates earned the endorsements based on their commitment to fight for everyday Floridians and SEIU’s “Unions For All” electoral platform which focuses on:

-- worker and union rights

-- racial justice 

-- access to quality, affordable healthcare

-- supporting a minimum wage of at least $15 an hour

-- affordable housing


The endorsements and platform are backed by a multi-million investment in get-out-the-vote, communications and other outreach efforts. Additionally, hundreds of SEIU Florida members have pledged thousands of hours to work phone banks, text banks, and participate in dozens of other actions for the primary and general elections.


Specific issues include fixing the structural racial justice issues that are in the way of true economic freedom and justice; a living wage for nursing home employees who care for our seniors but can’t afford health care for themselves; a minimum wage of $15 per hour; protection of Medicare; support for adjunct faculty and K-20 education funding; a resident physician bill of rights; the ability to join a union for airport workers and others who are excluded from statutory protections; and the expansion of Medicaid which would provide critical health insurance to 700,000 working-class Floridians who otherwise have no health coverage at all.

“If the COVID-19 crisis has taught us anything, it's how important it is to have leaders who listen to the voice of essential workers and make our community’s safety and prosperity central to their platforms,” said Martha Baker, RN, president of SEIU Florida. “Our endorsed candidates will stand up for all workers, for quality and affordable healthcare, racial justice and a living wage. We are confident in their ability to lead our state in this unprecedented time.”

The endorsements range from races for Congress, State Senate, and State House as well as numerous local and county leadership positions.

SEIU Florida endorsements include:

U.S. Congress

Florida's 9th Congressional District    Darren Soto

Florida's 10th Congressional District    Val Demings

Florida's 13th Congressional District    Charlie Crist

Florida's 14th Congressional District    Kathy Castor

Florida's 16th Congressional District    Margaret Good

Florida's 20th Congressional District    Alcee Hastings

Florida's 21st Congressional District    Lois Frankel

Florida's 22nd Congressional District    Ted Deutch

Florida's 23rd Congressional District    Debbie Wasserman-Schultz

Florida's 24th Congressional District    Frederica Wilson

Florida's 26th Congressional District    Debbie Mucarsel-Powell

Florida's 27th Congressional District    Donna Shalala


Florida State Senate

Senate District 3    Lorrane Ausley

Senate District 9    Patricia Sigman

Senate District 11    Randolph Bracy

Senate District 13    Linda Stewart

Senate District 15    Victor Torres

Senate District 29    Tina Polsky

Senate District 31    Lori Berman

Senate District 33    Perry Thurston

Senate District 35    Shevrin Jones

Senate District 37    Jose Javier Rodriguez

Senate District 39    Javier Fernadez

Florida State House

House District 9    Allison Tant

House District 13    Tracie Davis

House District 14    Angie Nixon

House District  21    Kayser Enneking

House District 26    Patrick Henry

House District 30    Joy Goff-Marcil

House District 43    Alex Barrio

House District 44    Geraldine Thompson

House District 47    Anna Eskamani

House District 48    Samuel Vilchez Santiago

House District 49    Carlos Guillermo Smith

House District 59    Andrew Learned

House District 62    Susan Valdes

House District 68    Ben Diamond

House District 69    Jennifer Webb

House District 70    Michele Rayner

House District 84    Delores Hogan Johnson

House District 86    Matt Willhite

House District 87    David Silvers

House District 88    Omari Hardy

House District 89    James Bonfiglio

House District 91    Emily Slosberg

House District 92     Patricia Hawkins-Williams

House District 94    Bobby DuBose

House District 95    Jasmen Rogers-Shaw

House District 96    Christine Hunschofsky

House District 100    Joe Geller

House District 101     Marie Woodson

House District 102    Felicia Robinson

House District 103    Cindy Polo

House District 108    Dotie Joseph

House District 112    Nick Duran

House District 114     Jean-Pierre Bado

House District 117     Kevin Chambliss

House District 120    Clint Barras


County and Municipal Races

Broward County Commission, District 9             Dale Holness

Broward County Supervisor of Elections             Mitch Ceasar

Miami-Dade County Commission, District 1       Oliver Gilbert                                                                    

Miami-Dade County Commission, District 13            Rene Garcia                                                                    

Miami-Dade County Commission, District 5             Eileen Higgins                    

Miami-Dade County Commission, District 9            Kionne McGhee                                                                

Miami-Dade County Mayor                     Daniella Levine-Cava                                                                

Orange County Commission, District 3                 Mayra Mercedes Uribe                                                                

Orange County Commission, District 5                 Emily Bonilla                                                                    

Osceola County Commission, District 3             Brandon Arrington                                                                

Palm Beach County Commission, District 3           David Kerner                                                                    

Palm Beach County Commission, District 5            Maria Sachs                                                                    

Palm Beach County Commission, District 7            Mack Bernard                                                                    

Palm Beach County School Board, District 5          Frank Barbieri                                                                    

Pinellas County Commission, District 1             Janet Long                                                                    

Pinellas County Commission, District 3             Charlie Justice                                                                    

Pinellas County Commission, District 7             Rene Flowers                                                                    

Pinellas County School Board, District 4             Eileen Long                                                                    

Seminole County Commission, District 5             Pernell Bush        

State Attorney, 13th Judicial Circuit                 Andrew Warren                                                                




SEIU Florida represents over 55,000 active and retired healthcare professionals, public employees, and property service workers in the state of Florida. SEIU members provide vital public services in Florida’s hospitals, nursing homes, public schools, community colleges, municipal and county governments, malls, and universities. With over 2.1 million members, SEIU is the fastest-growing union in North America.