Skip to:

SEIU Florida Members Announce November Endorsements

Oct. 10, 2016
Media contact: Elizabeth Fernandez, elizabeth.fernandez@seiufl.org954-652-9897

Miami, FL — The members of SEIU Florida are announcing their endorsements for the November 2016 general election. With so much on the line in elections across the state, SEIU Florida members are focused on supporting candidates who will fight for the diverse communities where our members live and work.

“This election, we have seen divisive rhetoric designed to tear our country and our communities apart,” said SEIU Florida President Monica Russo. “But we will not let hate win. The members of SEIU Florida are instead coming together to campaign for candidates fighting for justice for all Florida families.”

The candidates SEIU Florida members have endorsed have proven themselves as champions committed to $15 an hour and union rights, affordable child care for all Americans, addressing the lasting impact of racism toward Black America, common sense immigration reform, empowering Latino communities for equal opportunities, action on climate change and quality long-term care for seniors and people with disabilities. SEIU Florida members have also made recommendations on amendments and initiatives that will have a real impact on a statewide and local level.

The members of SEIU Florida have made the following endorsements for the 2016 November General election:

President & Vice President
Hillary Clinton & Tim Kaine (D)

US Senate
Patrick Murphy (D)

US Congress
Al Lawson (D)
Florida’s 5th Congressional District

Stephanie Murphy (D)
Florida's 7th Congressional District

Darren Soto (D)
Florida's 9th Congressional District

Val Demings (D)
Florida's 10th Congressional District

Charlie Crist (D)
Florida's 13th Congressional District

Kathy Castor (D)
Florida's 14th Congressional District

April Freeman (D)
Florida's 17th Congressional District

Randy Perkins (D)
Florida's 18th Congressional District

Alcee Hastings (D)
Florida's 20th Congressional District

Lois Frankel
Florida's 21st Congressional District

Ted Deutch (D)
Florida's 22nd Congressional District

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D)
Florida's 23rd Congressional District

Frederica Wilson (D)
Florida's 24th Congressional District

Joe Garcia (D)
Florida's 26th Congressional District

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R)
Florida's 27th Congressional District

Florida Senate
Rod Smith (D)
Florida Senate District 8

Randolph Bracy (D)
Florida Senate District 11

Linda Stewart (D)
Florida Senate District 13

Vic Torres (D)
Florida Senate District 15

Bob Beusing (D)
Florida Senate District 18

Darryl Rouson (D)
Florida Senate District 19

Bobby Powell (D)
Florida Senate District 30

Jeff Clemens (D)
Florida Senate District 31

Gary Farmer (D)
Florida Senate District 34

Rene Garcia (R)
Florida Senate District 36

Anitere Flores (R)
Florida Senate District 39

Dwight Bullard (D)
Florida Senate District 40

Florida House
Ramon Alexander (D)
Florida House District 8

Loranne Ausley (D)
Florida House District 9

Reggie Fullwood (D)*
Florida House District 13
*(Due to Fullwood's late withdrawal, his name will remain on ballot but votes will go to the Democratic nominee, Tracie Davis)

Amanda Murphy (D)
Florida House District 36

Benny Valentine (D)
Florida House District 42

John Cortes (D)
Florida House District 43

Beth Tuura (D)
Florida House District 47

Amy Mercado (D)
Florida House District 48

Carlos Guillermo Smith (D)
Florida House District 49

Rena Frazier (D)
Florida House District 59

David Singer (D)
Florida House District 60

Lisa Montelione (D)
Florida House District 63

Ben Diamond (D)
Florida House District 68

Jennifer Webb (D)
Florida House District 69

Edward James III (D)
Florida House District 72

Robert Simeone (D)
Florida House District 85

Matt Wilhite (D)
Florida House District 86

Lori Berman (D)
Florida House District 90

Ken Keechl (D)
Florida House District 93

Ivette Gonzalez Petkovich (D)
Florida House District 103

Patricio Moreno (D)
Florida House District 105

Nick Duran (D)
Florida House District 112

David Richardson (D)
Florida House District 113

Daisy Baez (D)
Florida House District 114

Robert Ascencio (D)
Florida House District 118

Jenniffer Pinell (D)
Florida House District 119

State Attorney
Aramis Ayala (D)
9th Judicial Circuit

Andrew Warren
13th Judicial Circuit

Constitutional Amendment No. 1
Rights of Electricity Consumers Regarding Solar Energy Choice
Vote No

Constitutional Amendment No. 2
Use of Marijuana for Debilitating Medical Conditions
Vote Yes

Broward County
Michael Udine
County Commission, District 3

Steve Geller
County Commission, District 5

Dale V.C. Holness
County Commission, District 9

Scott Israel

Hazelle Rogers
Lauderdale Lakes Mayor

Sandra Davey
Lauderdale Lakes City Commission, Seat 4

Hillsborough County
Pat Frank
Clerk of Court

Lake County
Sandy Gamble
School Board 4

Paul Giacalone
Minneola City Commission

Miami-Dade County
Sandra Ruiz
Doral Mayor

Carol “Jodie” Breece (Co-endorsed)
Oscar Rodriguez-Fonts (Co-endorsed)
Circuit Court Judge, Group 52

City of Miami Charter Amendment No. 3
Providing Further Independence of the Civilian Investigative Panel
Vote Yes

Orange County
Emily Bonilla
County Commission, District 5

Charter Amendment Question No. 1
Reforming Initiative Process to Provide Clarity, Accountability, and Transparency, and Ensure Equal Treatment of Voters
Vote No

Charter Amendment Question No. 2
Changing County Constitutional Officers to Charter Officers and Providing for Nonpartisan Elections and Term Limits
Vote No

Charter Amendment Question No. 3
Preserving Term Limits and Nonpartisan Elections for County Constitutional and Charter Officers
Vote No

Osceola County
Julio Diaz
County Commission, District 3

Jeff Rivera
County Commission, District 5

Palm Beach County
David Kerner
County Commission District 3

Palm Beach County District Schools, Cities and County Government Infrastructure One-Cent Sales Surtax
Vote Yes

Pinellas County
Carol Cook
Pinellas School Board 5

Charlie Justice
County Commission, District 3

Julie Brujalski
Dunedon Mayor

Approval of the Continuation of One-Half Mill Ad Valorem Tax for School District Operating Expenses
Vote Yes


SEIU Florida represents over 55,000 active and retired healthcare professionals, public employees and property service workers in the state of Florida. SEIU members provide vital public services in Florida’s hospitals, nursing homes, public schools, community colleges, municipal and county governments, malls, and universities. With over 2.1 million members, SEIU is the fastest-growing union in North America.